An Ode to BECCA Cosmetics

An iconic beauty brand is closing its doors for good. Here’s a little tribute to BECCA Cosmetics for shaping the beauty industry into how we know it today.

By now we’ve all heard the sad and shocking news that BECCA Cosmetics is closing its doors in September 2021. I quite literally woke up to this message not too long ago. It was one of the first posts I saw on my half-alive morning Instagram scroll. Needless to say, this definitely jolted me awake.

BECCA Cosmetics was absolutely booming at the same time as my makeup obsession. When I think of 2016, I’m reminded of adapting to college life. I went to my first concert that summer (Panic! at the Disco) and discovered one of my all time favorite bands: Twenty One Pilots. I dyed my virgin hair. And BECCA collaborated with Jaclyn Hill to create a highlighter called Champagne Pop. The makeup industry was forever changed. 

2016_selfie
Let us not forget the awful camera quality in 2016

It seems that every day there’s a new collaboration between a beauty brand and influencer. So much to the point where it’s overwhelming just to keep up with all the new products dropping. Before BECCA x Jaclyn Hill, I can’t remember many (if any) collaborations in the beauty industry. This launch felt like it opened the door for what we see today. I can’t even begin to list how many products I own that are a collaboration between a beauty brand and influencer, other company, or some form of media.

I also feel like this collaboration paved the way for more influencers and celebrities to create their own makeup lines. Since 2016, we’ve seen beauty brands from Jaclyn Hill herself (Jaclyn Cosmetics), Rihanna (Fenty Beauty), Tati (Tati Beauty) Lady Gaga (Haus Laboratories), and Selena Gomez (Rare Beauty). Of course there were celebrities who owned makeup brands before this; a big example being Kylie Jenner (Kylie Cosmetics). However, it feels like the BECCA x Jaclyn Hill collaboration solidified the idea that beauty lovers wanted to see products from their favorite influencers. And they would happily pay for it. 

To be honest, I’ve never tried the iconic Champagne Pop. The color was undeniably gorgeous but it wasn’t a product I felt compelled to buy. In the following years, Jaclyn’s name was even taken off the highlighter for reasons I’m still unsure of. There have actually only been a few products from BECCA that I’ve tried over the years. I dabbled with the Ever-Matte Poreless Priming Perfector when I was convinced I had oily skin. (I was still very new to makeup then and my skincare routine was nonexistent.) 

skin mattifying face primer

In 2019 I purchased the BECCA x Khloe Kardashian & Malika Haqq Bronze, Blush, & Glow Palette because the blushes were some of the most stunning shades I’ve ever seen. It also came with a bronzer and highlighter. Turns out my instincts were correct. I still use this face palette today. 

powder face palette

My absolute favorite product from BECCA has to be the Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed Highlighter in Vanilla Quartz. The mini version came in a Sephora Favorites kit a few years ago and it’s my favorite summertime highlighter. The color is a very light white gold that just really pops in the sun. The formula is powdery yet creamy and the pigmentation is stunning. This is definitely a product I will consider repurchasing before the brand is gone for good. 

mini face highlighter
white gold highlighter swatch

All of this is to say that I think the beauty community owes BECCA Cosmetics a massive thank you. Thanks for opening the door to allow influencers the creative ability to collaborate with big name brands. Thank you for shaping the beauty industry into what it is today. Thank you for creating iconic products that so many people will miss from their makeup routines.

Leave a comment