October Beauty Favorites | 2020

We may be halfway through November, but it’s always a good time to talk about beauty favorites right?

Hi friends! If you’re new, welcome. If you’re not new, it’s been a while since we last talked. How are we doing? Personally, it’s been a long couple of weeks but I’m glad to get back into the swing of things. I wanted to be bring you my October favorites before it got too late. (Even though this post is coming to a device near you in mid-November.) I think I wore makeup a grand total of 3 times last month but I still have some products worth sharing. Let’s cut the chit chat and get to it. If you want to see the beauty items I’ve clung to in the past 30ish days, then get scrolling!

Peach and Lily Super Reboot Resurfacing Mask: $43 (full size)

face mask for resurfacing skin
light blue face mask

This is a fairly new product to me and I was actually in awe of it the very first time I tried it. This resurfacing mask contains AHA and BHA to exfoliate the skin for an overall smoother appearance. It also claims to treat clogged pores although I didn’t see much of a difference in that respect. I like to use this mask when I’m dealing with stubborn texture or my skin just feels rough. It’s a less harsh alternative (when used properly) to my beloved Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask. I do need to stress the use properly part though. Peach and Lily suggests using this mask once or twice a week. However, if you have skin that’s extremely sensitive to AHA and BHA (like me) that is way too frequently. Just last week, I used this mask twice and my skin had the most awful reaction. It was super sensitive, broke out, and felt burned quite honestly. I think using this mask every two weeks is going to be my formula for success. 

Benefit Rockateur Blush:  $30 (full size)

nude blush for cheeks
nude blush swatch

Now that we’re halfway through fall, I tend to lean towards blushes with a redder undertone as opposed to orange. Rockateur is always one of my go to’s this time of year. It provides a very natural flush to the cheeks with a nice hint of shimmer. I know scented products aren’t always the best for skin but I do love the way Benefit blushes smell as well.

Tarte Maneater Mascara: $23

leopard print mascara tube
mascara wand

Judging by how much I initially hated this mascara, I can’t believe it’s actually made it to one of my monthly favorites. Lately, my lashes have been extra sad for some reason. I think I may need a new lash curler very soon. In the meantime, this mascara has been helping to lift my lashes and provide volume that other mascaras just can’t achieve. You already know I’d usually turn to my Tarte Gifted Mascara in times like these, but I’ve found Maneater to do a better job recently. I think it definitely has to do with the bristles on the latter’s brush. The wand goes from tiny bristles to thicker bristles, which really grab onto my lashes and make them more voluminous. It took me quite a while to get the hang of this mascara, but now that I have it down it’s one of the most reached for in my collection. 

Batiste Tropical Coconut Dry Shampoo: $7.49 @ Target 

dry shampoo for hair

My hair looks better the longer I don’t wash it. Whenever I tell people that I seem to get a strange response but it’s the truth. However, my scalp is still producing oils while I lazily hold off to wash it another day. Batiste dry shampoo is always my saving grace. No product dries up oil better and gives me more volume. It’s quite magical. Just a few squirts of this stuff and my hair instantly looks revived and refreshed. I’ve tried a couple of Batiste’s scents but this one still remains a favorite of mine.   

Bath and Body Works A Thousand Wishes Body Spray: $14.50 

body spray bottle

Like most teenage girls, I had a sick obsession with Bath and Body Works’ body sprays in high school. Now that I’ve grown up and discovered the wonderful world of perfume, I don’t shop there nearly as often. However, I do still have a few body sprays left and this scent happens to be one of them. A Thousand Wishes smells like a winter wonderland. I love spraying it around my room or opting for this when I want something lighter than perfume. It’s very sweet and reminds me of champagne and cranberries. Here are the notes according to Bath and Body Works; pink prosecco, sparkling quince, crystal peonies, gilded amber, and amaretto creme.  

Yankee Candle Balsam & Cedar: $29.50

Christmas candle

I start listening to Christmas music in October so it’s no surprise I want the ambience to match my mood. As a result, this candle has pretty much been burning all month long. Yankee Candles are definitely on the pricier side so I wouldn’t necessarily recommend this if you’re on a budget. However, I can’t deny how aromatic this candle is even when it’s not lit. They’re also gigantic in size so this will last me for quite a while. Plus, I only burn this candle from October to December and designate the rest of the year for other scents. If you’re crazy like me and do the same, you might see this as a worthwhile purchase. 

American Eagle Soft and Sexy Plush Shirts: $30 + up

v-neck striped t-shirt

I actually have a fashion item for once this month! These shirts from American Eagle are quickly becoming a staple in my wardrobe. Like the name suggests, they’re ultra-soft against the skin. They’re the perfect top for layering or when you want to feel a little more put together instead of throwing on a regular tee. I have this V-neck striped one and a wine-colored one as well. The key here is to buy these shirts from Marshalls instead of paying full price at American Eagle. Each of these were $12.99, which is infinitely better than spending $30 or more on just one. I hope to find more soon because I will scoop them up as quickly as possible. 

I can’t believe there’s only one more monthly favorites until my ENTIRE 2020 favorites. That’s my favorite post to write so I’m looking forward to rounding up the best product of this…eventful year. Hope to see you back here next week!

Follow me on Instagram for more beauty favorites: @atleastelyse

And TikTok for other fun stuff: @at_least_elyse

Leave a comment