September Beauty Favorites | 2020

The leaves may be changing but these beauty products are here to stay. Check out what made my favorites list this past month!

The end of September means it’s officially spooky season! Before we know it Christmas will be right around the corner. For now, let’s get into the beauty products I’ve been obsessing over the past month. From skincare to makeup and even perfume, I have quite a good variety of favorites. So what do you say? Start scrolling to discover my latest obsessions within the beauty community. 

Innisfree Pore Clearing Clay Mask with Super Volcanic Clusters 2X: $15

clay face mask in pot
grey clay face mask

I’m deeply devoted to my Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay Mask when my skin needs a major detox. Sometimes, I want a less intense treatment though and this Innisfree option provides just that. I’ll use this when my pores start to feel slightly clogged or my skin wants a little extra pick-me-up. It reminds me a lot of the famous Glamglow Super Mud Mask in relation to texture. It also has the same cooling effect when applied. The instructions say you can wash this mask off after 10 minutes but I prefer leaving it on for 20 to ensure it has dried completely. My skin feels cleaner and surprisingly softer after.  

Elf Bite Size Eyeshadow Palette in Cream and Sugar: $3

four pan eyeshadow palette
four eyeshadow swatches on arm

You see that beautiful champagne shimmer shade? Yeah, that eyeshadow alone is worth $3. In fact, when I hit pan, I already know I’ll repurchase immediately. Almost every time I did my makeup this month I highlighted both my brow bone and inner corner with this shade. It adds that glorious pop of brightness making my eyes look more awake. I’ve been a sucker for the intense highlighting shades in the Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Volume III Eyeshadow Palette for the longest time. Although I still love those, it’s nice to know that there’s something way more affordable that works just as well. 

Essence Make Me Brow Gel in 03 Soft Browny Brows: $2.99

brown eyebrow gel
eyebrow gel brush

If you’re into super natural brows that require minimal effort this is THE product for you. I simply comb my brows with a spooly and follow up with a few swipes of this tinted brow gel. The fibers help make my brows look a little fuller, but nothing too excessive. Even though I got highlights in my hair recently, this shade matches perfectly and doesn’t create a harsh contrast on my face. Essence is known for having affordable makeup, but $2.99 is a major steal, especially when prestige brands are charging nearly seven times the amount. 

Tarte Hamptons Weekender Contour Palette: $19

contour palette for face
bronzer swatch on hand

This is another item where one shade has completely stolen my heart. The bronzer, Farmer’s Market, might just be the perfect tone for my skin. Not too cool and not too warm, my face looks sun-kissed without turning orange. If you were with me earlier in the summer, you’ll remember I was using this right before I got a bit of a tan. Now that the warm weather has come to an end, my tan is fading and this bronzer has been the perfect transition into my delicate Physician’s Formula Butter Bronzer in Light. I wish Tarte sold this as an individual product because I would be all over it. 

Anastasia Beverly Hills Sun Dipped Glow Kit: $40

highlighter swatches for face

As you can tell from the gaping holes in two of the shades, this highlighting palette has gotten a lot of love. It also helps that these were the first highlighters I ever owned. I used to only wear pink eyeshadow and recently I’ve fallen back into that pattern. As a result, I’ve been using Moonstone on the face quite a bit. It’s probably the best pink highlighter I’ve ever used because it’s not obnoxiously pink and doesn’t have that duochrome effect that some people love or hate. In college, there was a semester where I wore Tourmaline as an eyeshadow almost every day. The same goes for the past month. I forgot how well this purpley-pink shade compliments my hazel eyes. It really is nice to dig up old favorites and fall right back in love. 

Amika Soulfood Nourishing Hair Mask: $28 

orange tub
hair mask in orange tub

From the colorful packaging to distinguished scent, Amika is one of my favorite hair care brands. This hair mask keeps my hair smelling insanely good for days at a time. (Seriously, I’ve never smelled a better product line than this.) It reminds me a lot of the Living Proof Restore Repair Mask, but $10 cheaper. The formula is very thick so you don’t need a lot to get the job done. I like to really work this into both the top and ends of my hair, then brush through in the shower. I usually let it sit for 10 minutes, which is ironically the same amount of time it takes me to shave. Just bought the full size this month and already adore using it every hair wash.

Chloe Nomade Eau De Parfum: $79 (1 oz)

glass perfume bottle

I can’t see a time in my life when I’ll ever get sick of this perfume. The unique scent smells overwhelmingly sultry and seductive. There are no two words to better describe it. If you want to feel like you’re the main character, I can’t think of any perfume more powerful than this one. It’s definitely a tad pricey for only one ounce, but I assure you it will be money well spent. This is one of the very few scents that last on me all day long. And if I spray it on a sweatshirt that I”ll wear multiple days in a row, this perfume will linger until you throw it in the wash. I mean, what more can you ask? Here are the notes from Chloe’s website to help give you a better picture of what the scent smells like in person. Notes: top – Mirabelle plum, middle – freesia, base – oak moss.

What products have you been loving in September? Let me know in the comments below?

Follow me on Instagram for more monthly favorites: @atleastelyse

And TikTok for more fun content: @at_least_elyse

Leave a comment