Makeup Products I Can’t Live Without

Holy grail product alert! Check out some of the items that elevate my makeup to the max.

This week we’re talking about the elite of the elite. I mean products that have drastically changed my makeup routine to the point where I have repurchased before running out. If you’re looking to up your beauty game or just discover some insanely good products then keep on scrolling!

Smashbox Photo Finish Primerizer: $42

translucent glass bottle

If you’ve been here a while, this primer should come as no surprise. My face needs additional moisture in the AM, PM, and pretty much every chance I get. With that being said, if I don’t moisturize my face before doing my makeup, the results will look disgustingly crusty. Back when I thought I had oily skin (HAHAHA) all of my matte products emphasized every single flake of texture on my barren face. This ultra-hydrating primer combats dryness so my skin is left plump and well, looking alive rather than dead. 

Supergoop Unseen Sunscreen SPF 40: $34

sunscreen tube

2020 (amongst other things we will not speak of) has been the year of sunscreen for me at least. I finally decided to start wearing it every day and let me tell ya; kinda life changing. Supergoop’s formula really said “put every assumption you have about sunscreen and throw it out the window.” This specific formula is designed to not only protect the skin, but also blur pores for an airbrushed finish. I apply this immediately after my Primerizer for a flawless base every single time. Makeup sits beautifully over top and it eliminates the need to purchase an additional pore-filling primer. Who doesn’t love a 2 in 1 product when it’s done right?

Urban Decay Primer Potion Eyeshadow Primer in Eden: $24

eyeshadow primer tube
beige eyeshadow primer swatch

Onto a different type of primer. This is the only eyeshadow primer I’ve used religiously since starting makeup. It has a good amount of pigment which allows me to cancel out any discoloration while creating a crease-proof base for the rest of my shadows. I do set this primer with a matte, white eyeshadow before adding colors to the lid. This just helps to keep the product in place and make blending easier down the line. Eden has a beige tint and matte finish, but Urban Decay offers different options. 

Huda Beauty Easy Bake Setting Powder in Sugar Cookie: $34

translucent setting powder

It has taken me literal years to discover a setting powder that sets my makeup without emphasizing texture. This Huda Beauty one is pretty damn close to perfection. Not only does it make my undereyes look smooth, but it’s also great for baking underneath my jawline. It’s even good at toning down my blush and highlighter if I ever apply too much. I tend to stay away from using this on my forehead just because it will reduce shine when first applied. Keep in mind, I don’t wear foundation, so over-powdering will make me look less natural. When I did wear foundation however, I was using this to set my ENTIRE face and it worked fabulous.  

Benefit Gold Rush Blush: $30 (full size)

peach blush for cheeks
peach blush swatch

This is possibly the best blush on the market. If you’re looking for a stunning peachy flush with a hint of shimmer (I always am) then you’ve 100% found it. I love wearing this blush year round, but especially in the summer and fall months. I also really like to pack it on for an almost sunburnt look. For some reason, Benefit decided to make their blushes scented and usually I’m not a fan. However, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t like the sweet perfume smell it gives off. 

Glossier Balm Dotcom: $12

lip balm tube

Chapsticks have never worked for me. They either do absolutely nothing or eventually make my lips feel even worse. This Glossier salve on the other hand is a complete 180. It’s hydrating, repairs my lips, and works as a great primer if you’re wearing any type of matte formula over top. 11/10 use every single day. I also never leave the house without this in my purse. The original unscented and coconut versions are my two favorites. However, they have a variety of different flavors with various tints if that’s what you prefer. 

Sephora Collection Ultra Shine Lip Gel in 01 Perfect Nude: $12

pink lip gloss tube
pink lip gloss swatch

If you’ve never tried this lip gloss I need you to run to your local Sephora or make an online purchase right this second. First, it’s affordable and even goes on sale for around $4 pretty frequently. Besides the price, the color and formula are also outstanding. This gloss is the perfect pinky nude that’s a little bit lighter than my natural lips, but not aggressively washed out the way some lippies can look. The gel formula is completely unique and not only feels extremely comfortable, but has a seriously shiny finish. I’m talking fresh ice on a frozen pond type glossy. 

Glossier You Perfume: $60

pink glass perfume bottle
_perfume

I love mixing up my perfumes every so often, but this is the only one I will repurchase time and time again. The distinctive scent smells sweet one second and then, BOOM, sultry the next. It’s light enough for everyday wear, but also great for a night out. If I’m being indecisive (as per usual) this will forever be my go to choice. It’s also one of the very few perfumes that never give me a headache. That’s a big bonus if you’re sometimes sensitive to scents like me. Try saying that three times fast. 

Honorable Mention – Tarte Gifted Mascara: $23

wooden mascara tube
mascara wand

This mascara wins honorable mention because though I love it, I have been able to live without it. I will add not as happily though. The brush and formula work together to coat every lash with the perfect amount of mascara. It lifts, lengthens, and adds an absurd amount of volume to my lazy, natural lashes. For an even more powerful punch of volume, layer a coat of the L’oreal Voluminous Carbon Black Mascara on top. I’ve tried a bunch of other mascaras in hopes of finding a similar effect, but none have come close to this Tarte favorite. 

What products are a staple in your makeup routine? Drop them in the comments below!

Follow me on Instagram for an endless supply of beauty: @atleastelyse

And TikTok for other fun adventures: @at_least_elyse

Leave a comment