August Beauty Favorites | 2020

New, new new! Lots of new products in this month’s favorites. Find out what’s missing from your makeup routine.

Hello, hello! Another month in the books means more beauty favorites. Shockingly, I have a lot of newer items to talk about so let’s get right into it. Keep scrolling to see what goodies I’ve been obsessed with in August. 

BH Cosmetics Hangin’ in Hawaii Eyeshadow Palette: $16

neutral eyeshadow palette
warm-toned eyeshadow swatches

I’ve been using this eyeshadow palette nonstop since late July. I forgot just how creamy the formulas are and the fact that they blend so easily. My go-to look has been Coconut in the crease, Mahalo on the outer v, and Sandy all over the lid. It’s the perfect neutral, gold look without going overboard. I also love this BH palette because it has a variety of matte shades that can be built up for a more dramatic effect. It’s also ideal for traveling since it’s relatively compact and made from cardboard. 

Nars Soft Matte Complete Concealer in Vanilla: $30

concealer sample size
This is the shade Custard, but the swatch is Vanilla
concealer swatch

This is the win of the month and dare I say, possibly year? If you read my Full Face of First Impressions, you already know how much I’ve loved this concealer since first application. And I’ve only fallen deeper since then. I learned that the formula works better when I tap it out with my fingers rather than blend with a damp sponge. My undereyes have never looked so airbrushed and I feel like this Nars product even lasts longer than my trusty Maybelline Fit Me Concealer. Will definitely be purchasing the full size once I finish up some of my older concealers. 

Elf Glow, Gleam, Beam, Highlighting Palette in Light: $10

highlighting palette for face
highlighter swatches on arm

I still haven’t used every shade in this palette, but I relish in this purchase almost every time I do my makeup. $10 for six highlighters? That’s a steal and a half. The shades kinda look similar when swatched, but I promise they look distinct in real time. My favorite highlighter (so far) is the second shade on the top row. It goes with any look, although I particularly like it when I wear minimal eyeshadow. Don’t be fooled though, all of the shades provide an intense shine to the cheekbones. 

Replica Beach Walk Eau De Toilette: $130 (3.4 oz):

perfume sample size

This is it people. This is THE scent. I am so deeply infatuated with this perfume, I can’t even explain it. From the name, you’d probably assume that it has a summery scent and you’d be correct. However, it reminds me of Glossier You in the sense that it has so many varying layers. I wear all of my perfumes year round, but my point is that this scent almost adapts to whatever season you’d wear it in. For that reason, I can see myself purchasing the full size at some point. The price tag is for sure steep which is why I might hold off until the holidays come around. Here are the notes from Maison Margiela’s website.

Notes: 

Top – Bergamot, Pink Pepper, Lemon  

Middle – Transluzone, Ylang Ylang, Coconut Milk

Base – Musk, Cedar, Benzoin

Essie Expressie Quick Dry Nail Polish in 380 Now or Never: $9

black nail polish

I absolutely hate doing my nails, but feel so much more refined when I have nail polish on. Enter this new formula from Essie. Or at least new to me. This nail polish has quick-drying properties that make the manicure process infinitely less time-consuming. After all, the worst part about painting your own nails is the waiting period where you can’t do anything but sit there. This formula dried after just a few minutes, even after I applied a second coat. It worked so well that I’m already deciding what shades to pick up next. 

Smileactives Teeth Whitening Pen in Cantaloupe Cooler: $18

teeth whitening pen
teeth whitening brush

Let me preface this by saying I have the most sensitive teeth on the planet. I’ve tried multiple whitening mouthwashes that either made my teeth hurt or just didn’t work. I won’t even give whitening strips a chance because that sounds like a one way trip to pain city. Needless to say, I was very skeptical about this Smileactives product. To my delight, this whitening pen doesn’t make my teeth sensitive and actually works! (I know, I’m shocked too.) At first, I didn’t see a distinct difference in the color of my teeth, but after I put the pen down for a few days there was a significant change. My smile looked way more yellow, so I started using this product again immediately. Now, I try to use it twice a day for a whiter smile that stays… as long as I actually remember this part of my routine.

Bath and Body Works Leaves Candle: $24.50

fall leaves candle

By mid-August I’m ready to break out the sweaters and start drinking my favorite pumpkin tea. The same goes for scents. Although this month has been particularly hot, I’ve found a few cooler days to light this baby and fully immerse myself in the fall mood. According to Bath and Body Works, the notes in this candle include crisp red apple, golden nectar, and warm clove spice. Although it smells nothing like actual leaves, the scent will 100% evoke scenes of foliage changing colors, apple picking, or pretty much any fall activity you can think of. My best advice is to wait for this candle to go on sale for half off and then snag one or, ya know, maybe five if you’re me. 

See any items you’re interested in trying out? Let me know in the comments below!

Follow me on Instagram for more monthly favorites: @atleastelyse

And TikTok for other fun: @at_least_elyse

Leave a comment