July Beauty Favorites | 2020

Hello, hello! Did anybody else’s July fly by? Wow, already rhyming by the second sentence. Anyway, I’ve actually had the chance to play with a lot of makeup this month. I feel like I’ve had a recent burst of both motivation and inspiration which is nice among all the craziness that 2020 has brought so far. Plus, there’s a lot of goodies I’ve been loving, so let’s get into it. Keep scrolling to discover the beauty items I’ve been obsessing over! 

Smashbox Photo Finish Primerizer: $42 

face primer for hydrated skin

This primer/moisturizer duo just can’t stay off my monthly favorites for long. My skin has been extra dry this month for whatever reason and I’ve looked to this Smashbox staple to get the job done. I typically use this as a primer before going in with makeup, but recently I’ve been using it as the second to last step in my skincare routine. It helps my Supergoop Unseen Sunscreen glide right onto my face without feeling heavy. If my skin randomly feels dehydrated during the day, a few squirts of this stuff will not only make it feel better, but also look plumper. The price tag is a bit high for this item, however it’s worth the money every time. 

Tarte Chrome Paint Shadow Pot in Paradise Found: $22

champagne loose eyeshadow
champagne eyeshadow swatch

If you read my Tarte Cosmetics Haul (+ Makeup Look) you’ll know I purchased these next two products from Tarte’s semi-annual 7 for $63 sale. After receiving the Tarte Chrome for the Holidays Chrome Paint Shadow Pot Quad for my birthday last year, I was interested in trying a more neutral shade from the line. Paradise Found is just that and more. This champagne gold shade looks beautiful on the eyes for an everyday look that screams natural yet glam. The formula is a little messier since it’s more of a loose pigment, but it’s totally deserving of the extra effort. I already know I’ll be reaching for this quite often from here on out. 

Tarte Gifted Mascara: $23

wooden mascara tube

This mascara coming back into my life proves that happy endings do exist. I purposefully waited to repurchase during Tarte’s sale, but had to suffer quite a few months without my prized possession. Now that I have a brand new one it’s the only mascara I want to reach for. No other mascara (besides Revlon Bold Lacquer which was discontinued years ago) makes my lashes look so volumized and lengthened at the same time. My friends even notice a difference in my lash game when I wear something different. A top coat of L’oreal Voluminous Carbon Black and my eyes are flirty, fierce, and ready for any occasion. 

Fenty Beauty Sun Stalk’r Instant Warmth Bronzer in Shady Biz: $30 (full size)

mini bronzer
bronzer swatch

Until I run out of this bronzer you can count on it being a favorite all summer long. Fenty Beauty definitely has their head in the game when it comes to formulating shades for every skin tone because Shady Biz has the perfect undertone when I’m tan. Just the tiniest bit instantly warms the skin and gives it that beautiful sunkissed glow. It packs a lot of pigment into such a tiny pan, so I do need to have a light hand with it. However, it really makes such a difference on top of a more cool-toned bronzer like my Physician’s Formula Butter Bronzer in Light

Benefit Cookie Highlighter: $30

face highlighter
champagne highlighter for face

I’ve been playing around with a lot of old and new highlighters lately, but I can’t deny the fact that there is something special about this one. Cookie is the highlighter I wished existed when I was first getting into makeup and searched everywhere for a blinding, champagne glow. Just a few swipes of the product is all it takes for a shine that can be seen for miles. I have to be careful not to apply too much or my skin will look textured and the infamous highlighter stripe will haunt my face. However, as long as I tap the excess off my brush I’m good to go. $30 for a single highlighter is not really my brand anymore, but this Benefit one is totally an exception. 

Glossier Coconut Balm Dotcom: $12

lip balm tube

I’ve been saying I’m going to try Glossier’s Coconut Balm Dotcom for at least a solid year now. The time has finally come and honestly it has lived up to all my expectations. This lip salve combines the uncolored finish of the Original Balm Dotcom with a subtle coconut flavoring that elevates this must-have product. It also has the same moisturizing properties which keeps my pout hydrated unlike any other chapstick I’ve tried. This lippie has already made a permanent home in not only my purse, but also my <3. 

Dr. Teal’s Chamomile Body Lotion: $6.99 @ CVS

blue body lotion bottle

Disclaimer: if you buy this product in CVS stores expect it to be a bit more expensive than online. I cannot believe I’ve found a drugstore lotion that smells good, actually feels hydrating on the skin, and isn’t a stupid amount of money. Surprisingly, I’m also obsessed with the thin, lightweight formula. I usually prefer lotions to have a thicker consistency since that’s what tends to work on my severely dehydrated skin. However, this Dr. Teal’s lotion has a liquid-like consistency that’s actually very similar to the Smashbox Photo Finish Primerizer. We love a full circle. It sinks into the skin effortlessly and doesn’t leave a greasy residue or film. The chamomile scent is very light, so if you’re sensitive to smells, this might be a good option for you. I actually just picked up the coconut version last night and can’t wait to start using that one soon.

What products have you been loving this July? Leave me a comment down below!

Follow me on insta for much more beauty favorites : @atleastelyse

And TikTok for other adventures: @at_least_elyse

Leave a comment