Beauty Empties | June 2020

Welcome back friends! My empty bin has started piling up which means it’s time to discuss my glorified trash yet again. If you’re new to empties, I basically talk about what beauty products I’ve used up, whether or not I enjoyed them, and if I would repurchase. Simple as that. Let’s get on with it, shall we?

Acure Ultra Hydrating Green Juice Cleanser: $12.99

cleanser for hydrating face

This is a fairly new product from Acure and I bought it soon after its release. I like their Seriously Soothing Cleansing Cream, but wanted to try this one since it seemed targeted for dry skin. That was clearly the right decision since I’ve fallen in love with this cleanser. The “smoothie to foam” formula feels nice on the face without leaving a residue. I’m not sure foam is the best way to describe the cleanser’s final form though. When I think of foam, I tend to associate it with the way those bubble face masks look before you wash them off. The end result in this instance is just soapy suds; works more than fine for me. After using this cleanser, my skin feels prepped and ready to go for the rest of my routine. 

Thayers Rose Petal Facial Toner: $10.95

facial toner for clean skin

I know you’re all sick of hearing about this toner, so I’ll keep it short. I apply this (with a cotton round) right after cleanser and my dehydrated skin drinks it up. It’s kind of like bottled water, but for the face. The light rose scent is to die for as well. I’ve lost track of how many times I’ve repurchased, but I really can’t see another toner beating this one. 

Eight Saints Pep Rally Gel Radiance Serum: $70 (full size)

empty serum bottle

Before I get into this mini review, I need to mention that Eight Saints has a Discovery Kit where you can try some of their best-selling skincare for just $10. You get 12 pretty generous sample sizes with items ranging from facial oil, eye cream, a face mask, and more. Not sponsored, I just think this is a fantastic deal for anybody who loves skincare. That being said, expect a lot more reviews of Eight Saints products in the near future. Now on with my review. This takes the cake as one of the strangest products I’ve ever put on my face. When I went to rub this “gel” into my skin, I swear I could feel every inch of texture. I wouldn’t call this serum a gel either because the formula is pretty liquidy. It also has a bizarre peppermint/dentist’s office scent to it. Not a fan to be honest. Although this skincare item has many odd aspects, I didn’t hate it. It left my skin with a pretty radiant finish even after moisturizer was applied over top. My face felt hydrated and it didn’t interfere with the way my sunscreen went on. That being said, I still think the cons outweigh the pros. Oh yeah, and the hefty price tag is beyond ridiculous in my opinion. Needless to say, I wouldn’t repurchase.

The Ordinary Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5 Serum: $6.80

clear serum bottle

I loved this serum last year. It even made my 2019 Beauty Favorites. But just as 2020 has proved to ruin everything, it has also made me hate this serum. I’m not sure if my skin adjusted to the formula or I totally drank the Gatorade at first, but this serum is just not it for me. By the end of this bottle, I was using way more than suggested and I still felt like my skin wasn’t as hydrated as it could be. The price point is of course the best part, but I’m willing to spend more on serums if it means they drastically improve my skincare routine. 

Phytojoba Moisturizing Hair Mask: $26

empty hair mask tube

When Kathleenlights said this was the most hydrating hair mask she’s ever tried, I practically jumped on Ulta and ordered it. Unfortunately, I have to disagree with the queen herself. I did really enjoy this hair mask; it’s just not what I’m looking for at the moment. It did a good job at hydrating my hair, but it did little to nothing for my dry, damaged ends. To be fair, this product doesn’t claim to be for I-regret-bleaching-my-entire-head-two-years-ago-and-I-won’t-shut-up-about-it-hair, I was just hoping it would help. If you don’t have crunchy ends like myself and are just looking for a moisturizing hair mask, I would totally recommend. Once I finally chop off the final bit of fried hair, I’d consider repurchasing.

tgin Honey Miracle Hair Mask: $17.99 @ Ulta

brown hair mask tub

This hair mask is up there as one of my all time favorites. It’s a drugstore item, so the price is right, especially for the amount of product in the tub. This lasted me a solid few months and at one point my mom and I were both using it. I personally think this tgin hair mask beats out the Phytojoba one for most hydrating. The formula of this product is so thick, yet so nourishing. It feels a little heavy in the hair when first applied, but the second I rinse it out, my locks feel like butter. I do think this mask helps my crispy ends, however by the third day the damage is definitely more noticeable. I’d probably buy this mask again, though the scent can be a bit overpowering at times. Don’t get me wrong, it smells good, it’s just a little much in the shower. Once it’s rinsed out, the scent does fade significantly though. I’m going to try some other hair masks in the meantime, but I wouldn’t be surprised if I came back to this one. 

Living Proof Restore Mask Treatment: $38 (full size)

purple hair mask tub

This was obviously a sample size, but I’ve gone through countless full tubs of this stuff before. If you’ve read My Hair Journey blog, you’ll know that I attribute a lot of my damage repair to this hair mask. The thick formula really gets into every strand of hair and helps keep my locks looking healthy, shiny, and less destroyed than they really are. I also love the scent which reminds me of Dolce and Gabbana Light Blue. Recently, Living Proof relocated this hair mask from a tub to a tube and also lowered the price along with the amount you get. Nice try. My bigger concern is that more often than not, when brands change the packaging of a product they also change the formula. I haven’t tried the tube version, so I can’t comment if this hair mask works the same as before. Hopefully they didn’t change it though, since I was solely dedicated to this product for a couple of years. 

Tarte Tarteist Creamy Matte Lip Paint in Birthday Suit: $20 (full size)

mini nude liquid lipstick

I am eternally sad that this lippie dried out before I got to scrape the sides clean. This Tarte Lip Paint has one of the best and most unique formulas I’ve ever tried. The texture takes the form of a whipped consistency which honestly resembles frosting in my opinion. (I don’t condone eating it though.) When applied to the lips, it basically erases any lines and leaves your pout looking smooth, yet matte. This particular nude was the perfect neutral mauve shade for everyday wear or special occasions. Heck, I wore this lip to a wedding I was in and it did not let me down. If that doesn’t speak volumes, I don’t know what will. I think a repurchase is in the works sometime soon. 

Hempz Exotic Green Tea & Asian Pear Herbal Body Moisturizer: $19.99

empty lotion bottle
I filled this bottle with water for the shot andddd I’m well aware it looks disgusting.

My mom bought this lotion for herself and after she wasn’t a fan, I kindly volunteered to take it off her hands. When I worked at Ulta, I would always pump a squirt of whatever Hempz sample was on display that week. (If you’re a fan of fall scents, their Pumpkin Spice and Vanilla Chai is a total win.) At first, I didn’t think this lotion was hydrating enough for my dry skin. With continued daily use however, I couldn’t tell a difference between this moisturizer and my regular one. This particular scent is the aspect that really steals the show. I’m still mourning the loss of my beloved Bath and Body Works Fresh Gardenia and Rain Ultra Shea Body Cream ever since they discontinued it years ago. This lotion is the closest dupe that’s come into my life. That being said, Hempz is not the cheapest body moisturizer of all time. You do get a good amount of product, but it seems to only last a month or two. It’s a little hard for me to justify spending $240 yearly on just lotion. I wouldn’t mind splurging every now and then for a scent I really liked though. 

Follow me on insta for more empties: @atleastelyse

And TikTok for other random vids: @at_least_elyse

Leave a comment