Spring Beauty Essentials

If life imitates art then my makeup imitates nature. As many people would probably also confess, my favorite part of spring is watching the flowers bloom. Orchids are my absolute true love, but I have nothing against tulips and a good cherry blossom tree. Because of my affection for the bountiful colors of the season, my mind goes to bright skin, pastel highlighters, and of course, anything pink when I think of spring makeup. If any of those trends sound appealing to you, keep on scrolling to find out what products I’ll be using for the next few months. 

Huda Beauty New Nude Eyeshadow Palette: $65

huda beauty new nude eyeshadow palette
pink eyeshadow swatches

I’ve raved about this palette on multiple occasions and here we are once again. For delicious pink eyeshadow looks, you can’t go wrong with this cult classic from Huda Beauty. What I like the most about this palette is the variety of shades and textures you can play around with. Some shades are true pinks while others lean purple, brown, and gold. However, they all work so well together that it’s pretty easy to get a cohesive eye look no matter what. I also admire the fact that there are mattes, shimmers, pressed glitters, and the most unique foiled shades that really pack a punch on the lids. If you’re looking for a spring palette that has the ability to give you full glam, you’ve found it in New Nude.

Urban Decay Naked 3 Eyeshadow Palette: $54

pink neutral eyeshadow palette
pink shimmer eyeshadow swatches

If that last palette sounded like overkill, but you still want to play around with pink shades, then this Urban Decay option is the one for you. As the Naked line promises, these eyeshadows are all fairly neutral, so creating a look you can wear every day is pretty simple. However, there are also shades that allow you to take a daytime look to a nighttime look without too much effort. I’ve also found the color scheme of this palette quite breathtaking since it offers a nice mix of pinks, but also toned down silvers. My advice is to stick to the left hand side of the palette for more wearable looks and dip into the right hand side when you want more of a smokey effect. Whatever the case, I always reach for this palette in the spring since some of the pink shades are too beautiful to pass up. 

Benefit Dandelion Brightening Finishing Powder: $30 (full size)

pink finishing powder for face
pink finishing powder swatch

I was today year’s old when I found out this is actually a finishing powder and not a blush. I’m not even sure how anybody would use this as a finishing powder since it definitely adds a flush to the skin and has a subtle luminosity to it. Therefore, I use this as a blush and find it to be a great spring color. It’s actually the perfect tickle-me-pink Crayola shade if you will. It’s not too cool or warm-toned and looks nice whether you apply a little or build it up for a more flirty look. 

Tarte Amazonian Clay 12 Hour Blush in Paaarty: $29 (full size)

pink blush for cheeks
pink blush swatch

This is a similar blush to Dandelion, except it’s a little darker and more cool-toned. It also doesn’t have a trace of shimmer in sight. If you want a blush you don’t have to think too hard about, this is a great option. It works well with neutral or full glam looks by adding a flush to the cheeks that appears overwhelmingly natural. The formula is definitely more mattifying than most blushes I’ve used, so if you have textured skin like me you might just want to use a lighter hand. However, the overall effect is stunning. 

Anastasia Beverly Hills Sugar Glow Kit: $40

highlighting face palette
pastel highlighter swatches

I feel like this highlighting palette doesn’t get a lot of love. However, it deserves recognition for having a combination of wearable and fun shades. Butterscotch (champagne gold) and Starburst (light pink) are colors you can pretty much pair with any look no matter how neutral or bold. Marshmallow (yellow/white gold) and Gumdrop (pink duochrome) are the shades that really give me spring vibes since they lean towards the pastel side. Both definitely make more of a statement, but they’re fun to play around with, especially since I tend to experiment with colors once the sun stays out longer. 

Sephora Collection Ultra Shine Lip Gel in 01 Perfect Nude: $12

nude lip gloss tube
nude lip gloss swatch

This lip gloss happens to be the cheapest product on the list and also my top recommendation. If you’ve followed me for a while or at least read my 2019 Beauty Favorites, you’ll know I have an obsession with this unique formula and gorgeous color. Perfect Nude really was the best name for this baby since you could rock this every day of the week with no hesitation. I wear my favorite lip glosses year round, but spring is really when plump lips start trending again. If you’re into that, this lip gel will help you achieve a flawless pout with shine that blinds passerbys. You can also opt to not permanently damage stranger’s eyesight by just applying less product. 

Coach Floral Eau De Parfum: $62 (1 oz)

glass perfume bottle

When I think of spring, my mind immediately goes to this scent. It’s super sweet with lots of floral notes making it perfect for the time of year when flowers are blooming everywhere. It’s also a very fresh scent which reminds me of how the Earth smells after it rains and the air feels cleaner. Does anybody else know what I’m talking about? It is most certainly placebo. That’s definitely my second favorite part of spring though. Not the placebo, the wet Earth scent. Ok, this is getting weird. Catch me wearing this perfume morning and night because I can’t get enough of it. Notes: top – pineapple sorbet, middle – tea rose, base – creamy woods. 

White Chuck Taylor All Star High Top Converse: $55

white high top converse

I like shoes that are functional and comfortable, yet stylish. Converse have been my jam since they made a comeback when I was in the sixth grade. Fun fact: I had reddish-orange converse and wore them almost every day to school even though they barely matched any clothes I owned. Anyway, white converse are a wardrobe staple as soon as the weather gets warmer. My favorite part is that I can wear them with pretty much any outfit. Jeans, leggings, skirts, dresses; you name it, converse make it better. Or at least that’s my theory. 

There you have it. Spring beauty essentials that are sure to keep you looking and feeling beautiful all season long. Do you agree with any of my top choices? Let me know in the comments down below!

For more spring makeup follow me on insta: @atleastelyse

Leave a comment