January Beauty Favorites | 2020

Happy February! Ok, so it’s a little later than I anticipated for these favorites to go up, but I’m hoping you’ll humor me and maybe agree with my thoughts on some of these products. Also, I’m trying my hardest to make my blog as organized as possible, so moving forward in posts such as this, I’m going to talk about products in the order of which I would apply them to my face. For example, cleanser, toner, serum etc. You get what I’m saying. I’ll also try to remember to categorize each section so it’s even easier to follow. Just had to throw that out there so if you’re thinking, “why does she only ever talk about skincare” you might just want to scroll down a little farther. Anyway, keep on reading to find out what I was loving in the first month of 2020!

Skincare

The Ordinary Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5 Serum: $6.80

hydrating facial serum

My desert dry skin would like to personally thank this serum for keeping my face hydrated during the winter months. This product nudged itself into my 2019 Beauty Favorites right at the end and I don’t see it leaving my skincare routine any time soon. You seriously only need the tiniest amount of this product for your face to feel like it’s swimming in moisture. I’ve talked about this important aspect of it before, but it also dries down insanely quick. I can pretty much follow up with moisturizer after rubbing this serum in for less than 20 seconds. Translation: it doesn’t require additional time to sink into the skin the way some serums or oils (like my belovedAcure Seriously Soothing Blue Tansy Oil) does. Such a perk when you’re in a rush or don’t want your morning skincare session to last three days. 

Supergoop Unseen Sunscreen SPF 40: $34 (full size)

sample size sunscreen tube

Never did I ever think I’d fall in love with a sunscreen. If when you think about sunscreen your mind automatically goes to a greasy, heavy, and overall disgusting feeling then, hi, you were me throughout most of 2019. I put off wearing SPF everyday because I didn’t want my skin to feel horrific and have makeup look even worse over top. However, this sunscreen from Supergoop will truly change the way you think about this crucial product. The formula is lightweight and even though the texture reminds me of the og Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer (which I despise) it applies to the skin like a dream. It evens out my face, has a slight blurring effect, and most importantly, makeup looks flawless over top. This sunscreen claims it can be used as a primer and boy am I more than pleased with the results. Of course, even if I’m not wearing makeup I still apply this everyday and enjoy the way my skin looks and feels. 

Eye Makeup

Anastasia Beverly Hills x Carli Bybel Palette: $45

eyeshadow palette with brush
matte eyeshadow swatches
shimmer eyeshadow swatches
metallic eyeshadow swatches

For some reason, when I’m doing full glam makeup my hands have only been gravitating towards this palette. Actually, I know the reason: it’s so fucking good. I really could not ask for a better color story if I tried. There’s such a nice balance of neutrals and playful colors, so depending on the day, you can get such a different look. I love Chai in the crease (always) and either Moo or Boli on the lids for a neutral moment. And when I’m going all out, Stev, Aura, and My Angels seem to make an appearance. The formulas in this palette are so enjoyable to work with, whether it be the creamy mattes or the intense foiled shades. I don’t have a single bad comment about this palette. 

Face Makeup

Milani Conceal and Perfect Concealer 115 Light Nude: $8.99

light concealer tube
concealer swatch

I’ve been loving this concealer as a natural, everyday option. If you didn’t know, for the past few months my high-maintenance ass has been mixing 3 different concealers to create the perfect shade for my skin. Well, let me be the first to tell you that 30 minutes in the morning is not enough time to layer and blend out a mountain of concealer. For that reason, this Milani option  has quickly become a favorite. It’s not cake your face full coverage and instead gives you about a medium coverage finish. However, it covers just enough without looking unnatural and powder actually sits nicely over top. (It’s so hard for me to find concealers where powder doesn’t look disgusting over top. Although, the Huda Beauty Easy Bake Setting Powder has def helped with that issue.) This color is also pretty perfect for my skin tone, which is another added bonus. 

Essence Make Me Brow in 3 Soft Browny Brows: $2.99

brown eyebrow gel
brow gel brush

I don’t know what took me so long to try brow gels, but I hate myself for it. This Essence one is only $3 and is quite literally my favorite discovery of 2020 so far! This brow gel takes barely any brain cells to use which is great because I’m half dead when I roll out of bed. Just swipe the brush through your brows. . . and that’s it. To fill in the tails of my eyebrows, I usually run the side of my brush to get a more precise application, but other than that it’s pretty self-explanatory. I did have a difficult time deciding which color was right for me because there aren’t many great swatches online. (Honestly fair though, how does one swatch a brow gel?) I recommend going to Ulta and even if you can’t see the product on the inside, at least the packaging will maybe give you a better idea. The shade I picked up happens to be perfect for my brows and it enhances them unlike anything I’ve ever tried before. I used to hate doing my eyebrows, but (dare I say) I actually enjoy it now. 

Benefit Cookie Highlighter: $30

boxed powder highlighter
champagne face highlighter swatch

Bury me wearing this highlighter. I’ve been searching for this exact product my entire life. If only this could have been invented when 18 year old Elyse was on the hunt for the perfect champagne highlighter. Well, at least it exists now. I seriously can’t get enough of this because of how perfect the color is. If I wore highlighter everyday this would 100% be my go to. I mean it’s ridiculously intense so I’d have to barely dip my brush into the product, but my point is it’s neutral and goes with any makeup. The formula is also something special because it’s so soft and creamy. It applies to the cheekbones beautifully and can of course be built up to be literally blinding. The only downside is the price. I realize $30 isn’t ridiculously expensive, but compared to the Elf Baked Highlighter in Moonlight Pearls ($4) which is almost a dupe, there’s a clear discrepancy. Nonetheless, I do prefer the formula of this Benefit one every time.  

Perfume

Burberry Touch for Women Perfume: $59 (1 oz)

burberry glass perfume bottle

I’m a musky gal, in the sense that I love scents that lean on the “masculine” side. I can understand why some people aren’t the biggest fan, but over the years my love for musk only grows. I’ve had this Burberry perfume for a few years now and don’t use it often as I should. It’s such a beautiful, complex scent that reminds me of dingy bars, cigarettes, and alcohol. Ok, I know literally none of that sounds appealing in a perfume, but like??? It’s just good in a sophisticated, old-timey way. If smell-o-vision was invented by now, I’d encourage you to take a giant whiff and prove me right. I guess you’ll just have to trust me on this one. 

Top Notes: California Orange, Dewberry, Rose Oil, and Black Currant. 

Mid Notes: Madonna Lily, Tuberose, Jasmine, Raspberry, and Peach. 

Base Notes: Creamy Vanilla, Oakmoss, and Cedarwood.

*Notes taken from Perfumania because if I even tried to figure out what the notes were myself we’d be here for literal years. 

Do any of these beauty products peak your interest? Leave me a comment down below if you’ve tried any of these or are picking one up on your next shopping trip!

For more makeup favorites follow me on insta: @atleastelyse

One thought on “January Beauty Favorites | 2020

Leave a comment