The Best Holiday Beauty Products

Gold eyeshadow, rosey blush, a beaming highlight, and of course, red lipstick are some of the most trendy makeup items around the holidays. However, finding the best products in each category can be challenging. And between decorating, buying gifts, and visiting family, who has time to research the best holiday beauty products? Have no fear, Elyse is here! I just realized I lost half my audience with that awful dad joke, but if you’re still around keep reading to find out my top picks. 

Eyeshadow: 

Charlotte Tilbury Colour Chameleon Eyeshadow Stick in Champagne Diamonds: $27

eyeshadow pencil
gold eyeshadow swatch

I’ve been raving about this eyeshadow stick since I bought and reviewed the Sephora Sunkissed Glow Favorites set. It is one of the most beautiful champagne/light gold shades I’ve ever tried. What really elevates this product are the tiny flecks of silver glitter that reflect the light in the most delicate, yet divine way. As for functionality, this eyeshadow stick is basically a crayon that you color on your eyelids. The cream to powder formula sets itself so there’s no need to worry about creasing as long as you don’t apply too much. If you’re on the hunt for the quickest and easiest way to create a holiday eye look, then this product is for you.  

J.Cat Sparkling Powder in Gatsby’s Party: $3.49

gold glitter for makeup

It’s no secret that I’m a glitter gal. Loose, pressed: you name it, I want it. However, glitter infused eyeshadows sometimes come with a high price tag. That’s exactly why I love J.Cat Sparkling Powders. They are beyond affordable and the results are just as stunning as any $22 option. (cough cough* MAC.) Gatsby’s Party is a true gold shade that will add that extra pop to your lids. Add some NYX Glitter Glue to ensure your shimmer stays on all night long. 

Anastasia Beverly Hills x Carli Bybel Palette: $45

anastasia beverly hills and carli bybel eyeshadow palette
shimmer eyeshadow swatches
warm toned matte eyeshadow swatches
foiled eyeshadow swatches

If there was a dark green matte shade in here, this would be the absolute perfect palette for Christmas. Nonetheless, it’s still a solid option bearing a beautiful cherry red, two different gold shades, and the most delicate champagne shadow with flecks of silver glitter. Because this palette is so versatile, you can easily get that traditional holiday look or try something a little outside the box. Nonetheless, these high quality shadows assure your eyes will be the star of the show. 

J.Cat Pris-Metal Chrome Eye Mousse in Chrome Galaxy: $5.99

foiled gold eyeshadow
foiled gold eyeshadow swatch

I did a whole review on three different J.Cat Beauty Pris-Metal Chrome Eye Mousse. They are such a unique product because of their (you guessed it) mousse texture and the effect it gives to the eyes. A small amount of product creates a gorgeous foiled look without the mess of glitter. Like the Charlotte Tilbury Eyeshadow Stick, I usually just swipe this all over my lids and call it a day. You can use a synthetic brush, but I prefer the way the product applies with my fingers. Either way, the gold color is stunning and will instantly draw attention to your eyes. 

Stila Shimmer and Glow Liquid Eyeshadow in Kitten: $24

gold liquid eyeshadow in tube
gold liquid eyeshadow swatch

If you want a super glowy eye look without ANY glitter, this Stila liquid shadow is the answer. It’s light gold color instantly brightens and, if I do say so myself, resembles the perfect Christmas ornament. A few swipes with this easy to use applicator and your eyes will be shining bright all night! I love using this product on the inner 2/3rds of my lids and either smoking a dark brown shade in my outer v or surprisingly pairing it with a light pink crease and outer v to match.

Colourpop Super Shock Shadow in Ladybird: $6

champagne eyeshadow
champagne micro glitter swatch

This shadow is multi-functional in the sense that it can be used as an eyeshadow or eyeshadow topper. I recently discovered how stunning this shadow looks with a light crease and this packed all over the lid. Because this shade is basically all micro-glitter, your eyes will look like a winter wonderland! Plus, the champagne color screams Christmas or New Year’s Eve. If you want a subtle hint of sparkle, you can gently tap your finger in the product and onto your eyes. The flecks of glitter will add a bit of dimension without overpowering your original look.

Blush/Highlighter:

Benefit Rockateur Blush: $30 (full size)

dusty rose blush
pink blush swatch

If rosey cheeks are the game, Benefit Rockateur Blush is the name. This is the perfect blush for the holidays or just winter in general. It provides that natural flush to the cheeks as if you just spent a few hours out playing in the snow. There’s also a touch of luminosity in the rosey color which only takes this blush to the next level. 

BECCA x Khloe Kardashian & Malika Haqq Bronze, Blush, & Glow Kit: $44

makeup face palette
luminous blush swatches

If you’re looking for a one stop shop to achieve that holiday glow, look no further than this face palette. This collaboration between BECCA, Khloe Kardashian, and Malika Haqq comes with everything you could want for a traditional Christmas look. Fabulosity is pretty similar to Rockateur by Benefit just with a bit more luminosity. I’d also say it’s just a hair deeper, so if you really want a dramatic flush, opt for this one instead. Fierce is a peachier blush (similar to Gold Rush by Benefit) with a lot of glow to it. I prefer Fabulosity for the holidays myself, but this one performs just as well. Glow Up is the perfect light gold highlight that’s super reflective on the cheek bones. It also pairs perfectly with either blush or any type of gold eye look. The palette includes a bronzer (Koko Bronze) as well which has a nice, warm undertone to it.

Colourpop Super Shock Highlighters: $8 

cream highlighters in hand
cream highlighter swatches
I’m painfully aware these all look exactly the same, but I swear they look different in real life!

These cream highlighters are seriously the most intense I’ve ever tried. When I want that full glam look, I don’t even hesitate to reach for these. My biggest problem is picking out which color! I currently own Flexitarian (white champagne), Smoke N’ Whistles (champagne gold), and Lunch Money (white gold). (Note: Colourpop describes these shades differently on their website, but these are the colors I personally see when I use them on my face.) Each one is perfect for the holiday season, so it really comes down to personal preference. No matter which you choose, each provides a blinding highlight that lasts all day. 

Lips:

Anastasia Beverly Hills Liquid Lipsticks: $20

three red lipstick tubes
three red lipstick swatches

Anastasia makes some of the most comfortable liquid lips on the planet. And who doesn’t want to feel cozy from head to toe during the holiday season? Granted, they do transfer, so if you’re looking for something that will not budge, give me a second and I’ll point you in the right direction. I have three different red-toned ABH liquid lips: Currant, Dazed, and American Doll. Currant is the deepest of the three reds and unfortunately I think it has been discontinued. Dazed is somewhere in between Currant and American Doll. It’s still a bold lip, but I’d say it’s the most neutral of the three. Finally, American Doll is the brightest and boldest. It’s the EXACT color I think of when I picture a holiday lip. I love each for different reasons, but any of these would be perfect for Christmas Eve or day. 

The Beauty Crop #GRLPOWER Liquid Lipstick in Imma Bawse: $15

beauty crop red lipstick tube
matte red lipstick swatch

Here’s your budge-proof, smudge-proof, matte-r than any liquid lipstick I’ve ever tried option. I really don’t understand why these are still so underrated because the formula is unlike anything else. It dries really quickly and will NOT move once it does. Because this lipstick is extra mattifying, I’d highly recommend wearing a lip balm underneath. However, if you’re cool with sacrificing comfort for the sake of matte lips, more power to you. My absolute favorite part about this lipstick though is the color. It’s a true Christmas red if ever I saw one. Yes, if ever I saw one. 

Smashbox Be Legendary Liquid Metal in Crismon Chrome: $24 (full size)

red lip gloss tube
red lip gloss swatch

What would this essentials list be without a glossy red lip? This one from Smashbox has a thicker, more opaque formula than a traditional gloss. However, that’s what makes it so beautiful. This lippie is so reflective it quite literally looks like wrapping paper. The only downside to this gloss is that it’s a bit sticky and transfers easily. The key to keeping it look fresh all night is either not eating (impossible) or continue reapplying (much more realistic). 

We’ve made it to the end folks! I hope some or all of these recommendations were helpful. Which products from this list caught your eye? Comment down below!

For more holiday makeup follow me on Instagram: @atleastelyse

2 thoughts on “The Best Holiday Beauty Products

Leave a comment