Full Face of Free Beauty Samples

Hello friends! I recently noticed that my stash of free samples was beginning to overflow. Hence, something needed to be done about that problem. I figured, why not do an entire face of free samples? That’s hip, that’s unique, right? Well, whatever it is, it’s also kind of a first impressions style blog since I’ve never tried a lot of these products before. I’ll also include where I received each sample (if I can remember) in case you’re curious. Alright, let’s get on with it!

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion in Original: $24

eyeshadow primer

This actually came in a Sephora Play Box which I received for free with an order I placed in the summer. I have exclusively used the Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion in Eden for at least the past two years, if not longer. Before that, I had the shade Minor Sin from the same line. My point being, I’m in a deeply committed relationship with this product. The Original version however, is a bit strange to me. It’s thicker, feels more silicone-y, and doesn’t have a color to it. While it does get the job done, I much prefer Eden for it’s thinner formula and concealer-like color.

No. 7 Stay Perfect Eye Shadow from Cappuccino Trio: (discontinued)

purple eyeshadow
purple eyeshadow swatch

I’m not exactly sure how this sample fell into my hands, but I think somebody passed it along to me. Let me be blunt: I strongly dislike this eyeshadow. Formula-wise, it’s fine and even feels pretty nice when swatching it. However, it looks atrocious on my eyes. The color is this bizarre purple/gray/blue that just does nothing for me. I also had to swipe the shadow across my lids at least three times, so it actually looked like I put something there. It was even difficult to find a crease shade that would possibly compliment this color. I had to do my eyes twice because my first choice looked even worse than the second. I finally settled to throw a cool-toned purple shade called Eggplant from the Lorac Mega Pro 3 Palette in my crease. The finished product honestly looks like a black eye on just my lids. Ok, I’m being dramatic. It doesn’t look that bad. Mascara really saved it is all I have to say. 

Lancome Monsieur Big Mascara: $25

mini mascara sample

On the subject of mascara, this was Ulta’s December birthday gift last year. Since then, I’ve used a decent amount of this stuff. The formula and brush are just the way I like ‘em: thiccc. This mascara provides a good hold without moving into clump city and the brush coats every lash. Because this is a sample size, it’s a little hard to work with an applicator on the smaller side, but it was free, so I’ll maneuver whichever way I have to. I’m not sure I’d spend $25 on the full size when I run out, but I will continue to enjoy this until then.

Glossier Priming Moisturizer: $22

priming moisturizer sample

I received this moisturizer sample one bottle of Glossier You ago. Translation: a little over a year ago. This is one of those samples that was so aesthetically pleasing I wanted to hold onto it forever. But, where’s the fun in that? Now that I ripped the band-aid, I’m honestly so glad I did. First, this product is marketed as a moisturizer, but on the sample it said it could be used as a primer layered over moisturizer, so that’s the route I went with. This “primer” is actually magnificent for somebody with dry skin. I doubted its ability to even be compared to Smashbox Photo Finish Primerizer, but it impressed me so much. My skin felt ridiculously smooth, plump, and moisturized without looking overly dewy. Don’t get me wrong, I love the dewy look (especially in the summer), but while Primerizer provides the hydration my face needs, it also ends up looking greasy by the end of the day. With this primer, there was less dew and more of a hydrated from within look. It’s hard to explain. However, once I finish my bottle of Primerizer, I think I’m gonna give the full size of this a try. 

Tarte Shape Tape Pore and Prime Balm: $25

pore priming balm

This is another sample where the packaging totally made me feel things. Luckily, this has enough for me to use more than once. This product, along with samples of the Tarte Stay Spray Setting Spray, Tarte Micellar Magic Makeup Remover, and Sugar Rush Don’t Hate, Hydrate Moisturizer came in a cute free set during one of Ulta’s Beauty Breaks. I just so happened to shop during the allotted time and wasn’t going to turn down these babies. I was particularly interested in this primer since I’ve used Tatcha Silk Canvas and am currently working my way through an Elf Poreless Putty Primer. After applying to my problem areas, I definitely saw a difference. My concealer and powder looked airbrushed over top and my forehead was particularly smooth. So far I’m impressed, but am glad I can potentially do a side by side comparison with my Elf one. Formula-wise, these two are very different. This Tarte one feels more silicone-based, but not to the point where it’s overdone. For example, the Original Smashbox Photo Finish Smooth and Blur Primer is straight silicone and sits directly on top of the skin. This one does the exact opposite. It sinks into the skin and actually smooths out the desired area. The Elf one feels much more hydrating and a bit thicker. I’ll have to continue to experiment before I voice my final thoughts. 

Ulta Pink Color Corrector: $9

pink color corrector
pink color corrector swatch

We have now briefly entered the portion of the blog where I don’t have samples to work with. All of these products are my everyday favorites so they’re basically the control group in this experiment. I’ll just say a little bit about each product before moving on. This pink color corrector cancels out some of the darkness in my under eyes before I go in with concealer. I like this one because it’s cheap and blends out effortlessly. Have repurchased three times this year alone. 

Maybelline Fit Me and Colourpop No Filter Concealers: $6.49 & $6.50

maybelline concealer
concealer swatch
colourpop no filter concealer
light concealer swatch

Since my body has returned to its un-tan form, I’ve had to mix concealers to match my pale face. Currently, I’m mixing shades 5 Ivory and 15 Light in the Maybelline Fit Me Line. And before you ask why I don’t just use shade 10 Fair, it’s because I’m trying to get rid of my awful Colourpop No Filter Concealer. Let me be clear, it’s not the formula that’s awful, it’s the color. I don’t know what the actual fuck I was thinking when I purchased the shade Fair 02 because this isn’t even my shade in another life. Anyway, I don’t want this concealer to go to waste, so I also throw the tiniest bit of this in the mix to get my perfect color. It’s an elaborate scheme that I hope to eventually narrow down sometime in 2020. 

Huda Beauty Easy Bake Setting Powder in Sugar Cookie: $34

setting powder for face

I just repurchased this setting powder during the Sephora sale where Beauty Insiders got 10% off for a few days. My original lasted me a full year which makes this so worth the price to me. I don’t use foundation anymore, but I love this powder for setting concealer, baking, and even just smoothing out my skin where I only put primer. Yeah, that’s all I got for this one. 

Physicians Formula Butter Bronzer in Light: $15.99

bronzer for contouring face
bronzer swatch

Another favorite of mine, this bronzer is my absolute go to in the winter months. It’s light enough to bronze my face and not worry about looking like an Oompa Loompa. It also smells like coconuts which is a nice little pick me up when it’s snowing outside. 

Tarte Amazonian Clay 12 Hour Blush in Exposed: $29

tarte blush sample
nude blush swatch

Ok, on with the samples. This came with a Tarte purchase earlier this year, but I just so happen to already have the full size. I’ll probably throw this in one of my friend’s birthday presents as a little added bonus since I don’t need it. This simple, matte blush is beyond beautiful as really all of Tarte’s blushes are. The color adds a nice little flush to the cheeks without being overbearing. I find this one to be less pigmented than its sister Paaarty, but swiping my brush a few additional times isn’t going to kill me. 

The Estee Edit Beam Team Hydrate and Glow Highlighter in A16: (discontinued)

cream highlighter sample
cream highlighter swatch

This brand has since been discontinued altogether which should just about tell you how old this sample is. Nonetheless, I had no idea what the color of these highlighters were going to look like since the packaging didn’t show me. A16, the lighter of the two options, was already a little too dark for my skin tone, but I went with it. The highlighter had a jelly like consistency and was just a tad thinner than that of the Marc Jacobs Coconut Dew Drops. If you know how much I dislike that product, you can probably already see what’s coming. This highlighter lifted my concealer which is my #1 pet peeve when it comes to products like this. It was also annoying to blend out. I used my fingers because I already knew a sponge would just lift the concealer more. In the end, you really can’t even see the highlighter on my skin, so I ask, is it really a shame this is discontinued?

Sephora Collection #LipStories Lipstick in 32 Berry-licious: $8

lipstick sample
purple lipstick sample
purple lipstick swatch

The lip category was the hardest for me. I had so many different samples including Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Color Splash Lipsticks, a Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche Lipstick, and a Nars Powermatte Lip Pigment. In an effort to make this look as cohesive as possible, I opted for this vibrant purple lipstick from the Sephora Collection #LipStories line. I mean you always try to fix mediocre makeup with a bold lip right? Was nobody else taught that?  I received this sample set in another Sephora purchase earlier this year. The color is not as deep as it looked in the pan and definitely sheered out on my lips. I tried to get as much pigment as possible, but it still didn’t live up to my expectations. There are a few other colors that came in the sample which I’ll have to try to get a better grasp on the line. The formula did feel very comfortable on my lips though. I thought for sure that this color would bleed without a lip liner too, but surprisingly it held up for the hot thirty minutes I wore it. 

Ok, well that was a journey! Surprisingly the primers were the big win for me today. Did any of the products I used today stick out to you? What are your favorite free samples? Let me know in the comments!

Follow me on Instagram for more full faces: @atleastelyse

2 thoughts on “Full Face of Free Beauty Samples

Leave a comment